PDN Gear Guide Home > Photographic Equipment Reviews
Objects - Aero Tether table Objects of Desire: Tether Table Aero Standard
September 18, 2010 - A company called Tether Tools has come up with an adjustable, lightweight table to rest your computer on.More
OBjects Apple display Objects of Desire: Apple 27-inch LED Cinema Display
September 13, 2010 - You can keep your iPods, iPads and iPhones. We'll take an Apple Cinema Display over them any day.More
Objects Panasonic Lumix Lens Objects of Desire: Panasonic 3D Lens for LUMIX Cameras
September 07, 2010 - Panasonic says its 3D lens for its Micro Four Thirds-based LUMIX digital camera will hit the market before the end of the year.More
PRod Review HD40 Product Review: Hasselblad H4D-40
September 07, 2010 - True Focus technology tops the feature list on Hasselblad's new "entry-level" medium-format camera.More
Objects Camera Duck Objects of Desire: Camera Duck
September 02, 2010 - There are lots of rainproof camera covers out there but we like the simplicity of the whimsically named Camera Duck.More
PRod Reviews - Manfrotto 504HD Fluid Video Head Product Review: Manfrotto 504HD Fluid Video Head
September 02, 2010 - Create super smooth pans and tilts with this “crossover” video tripod head.More
Prod Reviews: Slappa Body Locker Product Review: Slappa HardBody Photo Locker
September 02, 2010 - It’s not fancy but this cheap travel bag gets the job done.More
Canon 60D peek Hands-On Preview of the Canon EOS 60D Digital SLR (UPDATED)
August 25, 2010 - We take Canon's new 18MP DSLR with articulating screen and HD video mode for a spin.More
Sony A55 Gampat Shooting with the New Sony Alpha A55 DSLR at the Alvin Ailey Dance Studio
August 25, 2010 - Hands-on with a pre-production version of Sony's fast shooting camera.More
Objects Logitech Objects of Desire: Logitech HD Pro Webcam C910
August 20, 2010 - Logitech's HD Pro Webcam C910 lets you record in full 1080p HD video and make video calls in 720p HD.More
Leica 35mm f/1.4 PDN Gear Guide Review: Leica Summilux-M 35mm f/1.4 ASPH Lens
August 16, 2010 - Leica sets a new standard with a refresh of a classic lens.More
Objects Samsung Objects of Desire: Samsung SP-H03
August 16, 2010 - The era of the pico projector is upon us! The palm-sized Samsung SP-H03 projector is a great multimedia presentation device to bring with you on the road.More
PRod Reviews Adobe Lightroom 3 PDN Software Review: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3
August 10, 2010 - Adobe's image management software adds some significant new tools.More
Objects Spinner Objects of Desire: Lomo Spinner 360°
August 06, 2010 - The Lomographic Society makes some of the most consistently fun film products around. Add to Lomo's analog arsenal the Spinner 360°, a rotating camera that can capture unique panoramic photos with just the pull of a string.More
Prod Reviews Nikon AF-S Nikkor PDN Review: Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
August 06, 2010 - Sports and nature photographers have another reason to dip into the piggybank.More
Sony Nex-5 PDN Camera Review: SONY NEX-5
August 02, 2010 - The image quality from Sony’s new “EVIL” camera may make it appealing to pros looking for a portable shooter.More
Objects APC UPS Objects of Desire: APC Back-UPS BR1500G
August 02, 2010 - We're pretty sure you've never seen a power strip/surge protection device quite like APC's Back-UPS BR1500G. In fact, this device is so sophisticated, calling it a surge protector almost sounds demeaning.More
Objects - Profoto BatPac Objects of Desire: Profoto BatPac
July 01, 2010 - Profoto's come up with a pretty nifty fix to meet your on-the-go energy needs: the "power-in-a-bag" BatPac which you can sling over your shoulder—or, more accurately, over your assistant's shoulder—and bring to your next outdoor shoot.More
Objects: Olympus PEN Objects of Desire: Olympus PEN E-PL1
July 01, 2010 - This 12-megapixel camera is a pleasant surprise and has some design similarities to the Olympus EP-1 and EP-2 models but is quite a bit cheaper, retailing for $600.More
objects - Defog It Objects of Desire: Defog It
July 01, 2010 - The first time we noticed the problem, we were on a shoot in Puerto Rico. As the doors to our air-conditioned hotel opened, we pulled our camera from the bag and looked through the viewfinder only to see steamy Old San Juan blurred out in a thick haze.More
Objects Shutter Snitch Objects of Desire: ShutterSnitch
July 01, 2010 - If you bought one of those snazzy iPads like we told you to in the May issue, ShutterSnitch is the "must-have" photography app for Apple's tablet computer. ShutterSnitch works with wireless Eye-Fi memory cards, or Canon, Nikon and other file transmitters to zap images from the camera directly to the iPad's 9.7-inch screen.More
Prod Reviews - Adobe CS5 PDN Review: Adobe Photoshop CS5
July 01, 2010 - Adobe ups the ante with its sterling new Photoshop CS5 imaging program.More
PRod Reviews Steadicam MErlin PDN Review: Steadicam Merlin
July 01, 2010 - This lightweight camera rig will help you create magical tracking shots with your HD-DSLR.More
prod review Canon SD 4000 Canon PowerShot SD4000 IS
July 01, 2010 - Slick point-and-shoot camera boasts an f/2.0 lens and superior low-light capabilities.More
Objects La Cie Objects of Desire: LaCie Rugged USB 3.0
June 10, 2010 - We have seen the future and it is USB 3.0.More
Objects Mac Book Pro Objects of Desire: Apple MacBook Pro
June 08, 2010 - Ah, here's a product we have little trouble endorsing: Apple's latest refresh of its already excellent MacBook Pro laptop line.More
Tenba Messenger Bag PDN Review: Tenba Messenger Camera Bag
June 08, 2010 - Be discrete when you hit the streets with this stylish, urban camera bag.More
Prod Reviews Canon 70-200mm lens PDN Review: Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM
June 04, 2010 - Canon photographers should save their pennies for this great, multi-purpose pro lens.More
Objects WFD Photo Objects of Desire: WD Photos
June 02, 2010 - Here's a smart little app from WD (Western Digital) that lets you beam your photo library from your home studio's storage onto your iPhone.More
Objects Carl Zeiss Objects of Desire: Carl Zeiss Compact Prime CP.2 Lenses
June 02, 2010 - A venerable name in still photography is now giving videographers the tools for making high-def movies with their HD-DSLRs: a first-class set of cine lenses.More
Prod Reviews - Apple Aperture 3X PDN Review: Apple Aperture 3.x
June 02, 2010 - Despite some bugs, Apple has further improved on it flagship image management software.More
Prod Reviews - Nikkor lens AF-S Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
May 11, 2010 - Nikon has produced the ultra-fast, wide-angle lens photographers have been waiting for.More
Objects Spider Holster Objects of Desire: Spider Holster
May 11, 2010 - While we've seen several re-imaginings of the lowly camera strap in recent years, the new Spider Holster System does away with the strap altogether.More
Objects - iPad Objects of Desire: Apple iPad
May 10, 2010 - What's left to say about Apple's much-debated tablet device as it relates to photographers? Just this: You've got to get one.More
Prod Reviews - Humble Monkey Humble Monkey 360-T2 Camera Truck
May 07, 2010 - Create smooth HD tracking shots with this clever, three-wheeled truck.More
Objects Red River paper Objects of Desire: Red River Polar Pearl Metallic Paper
May 06, 2010 - If you like printing your photos on unique papers and substrates as much as we do, you'll probably love the Polar Pearl Metallic photo inkjet paper from Red River.More
Objects of Desire - Wacom Cintiq Objects of Desire: Wacom Cintiq 21UX
May 02, 2010 - If you enjoy working on touch-screen LCD displays and really want to do some serious photo editing, consider Wacom's redesigned Cintiq 21UX.More
Prod Reviews - yourphotocanvas.com YourPhotoOnCanvas.com  
May 02, 2010 - Adding high-quality canvas photo prints to your list of services just got easier.More
Objects of Desire - Panasonic HDC-TM700 Objects of Desire: Panasonic HDC-TM700
April 16, 2010 - Remember the days when digital SLRs couldn't record high-def video? Yes, it was not that long ago. But that doesn't mean that HD video camcorders have become a thing of the past. In fact, Panasonic has a brand new 1080p camcorder we like a lot: the HDC-TM700.More
Objects of Desire - Gigtube Objects of Desire: Gigtube DSLR Wireless Viewfinder
April 12, 2010 - We stumbled across the China-based Aputure company in the corner of a press event at the PMA show and are glad we did.More
Prod Reviews - Totally Rad Totally Rad's Dirty Pictures
April 12, 2010 - The interface for this textures plug-in is, in fact, totally rad.More
Objects of Desire - Clik Elite Objects of Desire: Clik Elite BodyLink Telephoto Pack
April 07, 2010 - Photo bags and backpacks come in all shapes and sizes but we've never seen anything quite like the Clik Elite BodyLink Telephoto Pack.More
Product Reviews - Induro Gimbal Head Induro GHB2 Gimbal Head
April 07, 2010 - Float even your longest telephoto lenses with this liberating tripod head.More
Objects of Desire: Samsung TL500 Objects of Desire: Samsung TL500
April 02, 2010 - There's a bit of a war going on in the compact pro camera category and that's a good thing for photographers who like their point-and-shoots small but powerful. The latest company to enter the fray is Samsung which introduced the 10-megapixel TL500 at the PMA show in February.More
Product Review - Nikkor 300 mm Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
April 02, 2010 - Nikon produces a super duper telephoto lens to complement its D3s DSLR.More
Objects Leica Golden Objects of Desire: Leica Golden MP
March 10, 2010 - Here's a product that's so over the top we couldn't resist making it an Object of Desire this month: a gold-plated Leica MP designed to celebrate the 60th Anniversary of the People's Republic of China.More
Objects Etre Touchy Gloves Objects of Desire: Etre Touchy Gloves
March 08, 2010 - It's been particularly cold in New York City this winter which can make it rather unpleasant for testing camera gear. Good thing we've been using Etre Touchy gloves which have exposed thumbs and forefingers so we can easily press the shutter and adjust settings on the cameras while keeping the rest of our hands toasty.More
PRod Reviews Nikon DX Macro Nikon AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
March 08, 2010 - Nikon's latest macro lens offers decent quality at an affordable price.More
Objects Flex DSLR Remote Objects of Desire: Flex DSLR Remote
March 04, 2010 - One of the most interesting things about the HD-DSLR phenomenon is the wide variety of inventive accessories that have sprung up around these cameras, like the new remote video stop-and-start device from Switronix.More
Prod Reviews - Canon EOS Mark IV Canon EOS-1D Mark IV
March 04, 2010 - Has Canon shaken off the ghosts of the Mark III with its new flagship DSLR for sports photographers?More
Prod Reviews K5600 Joker-Bug K 5600 Joker-Bug 400 & 800
March 02, 2010 - Whether you're shooting stills or video, this top-notch HMI lighting kit shines through.More
OBjects: DigiNest Objects of Desire: DigiNest
March 02, 2010 - Sunshades to reduce laptop glare have been around for a while now but inventor Phil Li just may have created the best one yet.More
Objects of Desire - snow goggle Objects of Desire: Summit Series Snow Camera Goggle (Model 335)
February 10, 2010 - Liquid Image, a company known for making underwater camera/video masks, has expanded its reach to the ski slopes with its new Summit Series Snow Camera Goggle (Model 335).More
Objects - LowePro backpack Objects of Desire: Lowepro Pro Trekker Photo Backpacks
February 08, 2010 - Is there a rule that all professional photo backpacks and bags must be black?More
Epson Hot Press Epson Signature Worthy Fine-Art Papers
February 06, 2010 - There are days when I wonder why I still bother to print.More
Objects - GalleryPouch GalleryPouch Gold
February 05, 2010 - Bubble wrap may be okay for shipping large, bulky objects but it doesn’t really cut it for flat, framed photos. (If you’ve ever tried to pack up and ship a gallery show of photos to another location, you know what we mean.)More
PRod Reviews Leica X1 Leica X1
February 04, 2010 - Leica's been on quite a roll lately thanks to a pair of extremely well received product releases: the 18.5-megapixel, full-frame M9 rangefinder camera (reviewed in November 2009 PDN), and the 37.5-megapixel S2 DSLR/medium-format hybrid camera (reviewed here last month).More
PRod Reviews Lumix Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF1
February 02, 2010 - Panasonic's Micro Four Thirds-based Lumix GF1 was the hottest camera in town last year.More
Objects - Powermat Objects of Desire: Powermat Wireless Charging System
February 02, 2010 - If your studio has become a rat’s nest of power cords and chargers, you should check out the Powermat Wireless Charging System.More
Objects - Nasty Sign Objects of Desire: Nasty Clamps
January 15, 2010 - The provocatively named Nasty Clamps may look like they belong in an S&M movie but their purpose is actually quite practical.More
Objects - My passport Objects of Desire: Western Digital My Passport Elite
January 13, 2010 - There are lots of portable external hard drives on the market and while many of them are quite good, our favorite has been the Passport line from Western Digital (WD).More
Nik Viveza 2 Objects of Desire: Nik Software's Viveza 2
January 11, 2010 - Though using flash filters (see above) is a traditional way to adjust color and tone in your images, you can also, of course, do it with software.More
Prod Review Nikon D3s Product Reviews: Nikon D3s & AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 ED VR II
January 08, 2010 - When I first heard about the D3s—Nikon's highly anticipated follow-up to its well-regarded D3 digital SLR—back in October I was, to put it mildly, underwhelmed.More
Prod Reviews Rosco Strobist Objects of Desire: The Rosco Strobist Collection Lighting Filter Kit
January 06, 2010 - The small strobe lighting movement has seen a resurgence in photography in recent years thanks, in part, to the popularity of blogs such as the Strobist.com.More
Prod Reviews Leica S2 Leica S2
January 06, 2010 - Believe me when I say that the Leica S2 could either save the medium-format camera market or completely destroy it.More
Objects of Desire: Ultima Underwater Housings for Hasselblad Objects of Desire: Ultima Underwater Housings for Hasselblad
December 23, 2009 - We've seen many underwater housings for compact cameras and digital SLRs in our day but very few for medium-format models. (And the ones we have seen have been of the homemade variety.)More
Gear of the Year logo PDN Gear Guide's 2009 Photo Gear of the Year
December 22, 2009 - PDN Gear Guide picks the top pro imaging gear for 2009.More
Objects of Desire: SkyShutter Aericam Objects of Desire: SkyShutter Aericam
December 21, 2009 - There was a lot of great gear at PhotoPlus Expo this year but it wasn't until the third day of the show that we stumbled onto something really cool. If you're unaware of the term "RC Helicopter" don't be too embarrassed. It's a particularly geeky subset of the world of "radio-controlled" model aircraft with a small but devoted fan base of techies and tinkerers.More
Objects of Desire: Moab Chinle Ice Nine Portfolios Objects of Desire: Moab Chinle Ice Nine Portfolios
December 18, 2009 - If you want to create a quickie photo portfolio but don't have a lot of time or resources, Utah-based paper company Moab has a clever new do-it-yourself kit called the Chinle Ice Nine. (Okay, maybe the name isn't so clever.)More
 Objects of Desire: Epson Photo Viewer Tethering  Objects of Desire: Epson Photo Viewer Tethering
December 14, 2009 - Epson's snazzy multimedia photo viewers have made an appearance in these pages before but this time we'd like to single out a long overdue "new" feature—tethering. Yes, the wait is finally over for what Epson reps have called "the single most requested feature" on its photo viewers.More
Canon PowerShot G11 Canon PowerShot G11
December 10, 2009 - When the G11 was announced last August, I interviewed a Canon marketing person about why the company had decided to reduce the number of megapixels in its new flagship PowerShot camera from the previous version.More
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH1 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH1
December 07, 2009 - It's fitting I should follow a review of the Canon EOS 7D with a look at the Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH1. The GH1 was announced at PMA in Las Vegas back in March when the 7D was not even a blip in camera reviewers' minds.More
Canon 7D Canon EOS 7D
December 02, 2009 - The so-called mid-level pro digital SLR category has been a pretty popular one for budget-conscious photographers so it's been a surprise that Canon has released such lackluster cameras at this price point in recent years. You know what I'm talking about. Canon EOS 30D, 40D, 50D anyone?More
iFolio Top Ten iPhone Apps for Photographers
November 27, 2009 - PDN Gear Guide picks the best photo apps for the pros.More
SanDisk Extreme Pro 64GB CompactFlash Card Objects of Desire: SanDisk Extreme Pro 64GB CompactFlash Card
November 25, 2009 - While the headlines about SanDisk's new Extreme Pro line of CompactFlash cards tout their Read/Write speeds of up to 90 mb per second, you'll really only see a benefit if you're shooting big bursts of RAW + JPEG files in a UDMA 6 compatible camera.More
Samsung Instinct HD Objects of Desire: Samsung Instinct HD
November 23, 2009 - Cell phones with built-in video and still cameras are edging closer and closer to having (somewhat) acceptable image quality and the 5-megapixel Samsung Instinct HD is another step in the right direction.More
Kodak Solar Charger KS100-C+2 Objects of Desire: Kodak Solar Charger KS100-C+2
November 16, 2009 - Maybe someone's come out with a serious solar battery charger before, but we doubt it's as well designed or as effective as the Kodak Solar Charger KS100-C+2.More
Though you can stuff a ton of gear into this shoulder bag from Tamrac, it stays relatively compact. Tamrac Ultra Pro 17
November 09, 2009 - Carry your digital darkroom in this surprisingly slim shoulder bag.More
The real magic—and one of the best things about ColorChecker Passport—is in the included Camera Calibration software which is a breeze to use. X-Rite ColorChecker Passport
November 04, 2009 - A smart little color calibration kit for traveling photographers.More
Leica has placed an 18-megapixel full-frame CCD sensor designed by Kodak into a classic M-series rangefinder body. So what's not to like? Leica M9
November 02, 2009 - Leica's new full-frame digital rangefinder is a quality extravagance.More
BlackRapid RS-5 Objects of Desire: BlackRapid RS-5
October 28, 2009 - The new RS-5 uses the same essential concept as the original—a sling-like camera strap that makes it easy to quickly and safely bring your digital SLR to your face— and has added a few tweaks.More
Leica S2 test shot PhotoPlus Expo 2009: Testing the Leica S2 (Sample Images)
October 26, 2009 - Leica lets us shoot with a final testing version of its elusive DSLR/medium format hybrid.More
iHome Notebook Cooling Pad with 3 USB 2.0 Ports Objects of Desire: iHome Notebook Cooling Pad with 3 USB 2.0 Ports
October 26, 2009 - We don't know about you but our Apple MacBook Pro gets as hot as Hades especially when we're doing any processor-intensive work such as editing photos or videos. (It's especially scorching in the summer when we're wearing shorts and catching up on episodes of 30 Rock on Hulu.)More
Testing the Nikon D3s Testing the Nikon D3s: Sample Images
October 21, 2009 - Shooting with Nikon's newest professional DSLR at the Big Apple Circus.More
Joby Ballhead for Gorillapod SLR-Zoom Objects of Desire: Joby Ballhead for Gorillapod SLR-Zoom
October 21, 2009 - If you're a fan of Gorillapods but have always yearned for just a little more control on how you can position your camera, Joby's new ballhead is a no-brainer.More
Nikon S1000pj camera projector Objects of Desire: Nikon S1000pj camera projector
October 19, 2009 - Though it's hard to come up with any real professional photography applications for the S1000pj, it could be the sort of technological breakthrough that's only fully appreciated further down the line, or maybe not.More
Metz's new ring flash offers wireless control and plenty of options to change the direction and power of the light. Metz Mecablitz 15 MS-1 Digital Wireless Macro Ring Flash
October 14, 2009 - Cut the cords with this wireless ring flash with directional control.More
Version 1.1 on the DSLR Camera Remote features a larger and better placed Fire button along with control for Burst mode. DSLR Camera Remote 1.1
October 12, 2009 - An iPhone app that even a professional photographer could love.More
Though it can make beautiful prints of up to 17 x 22 inches, the Epson 3880 is compact enough to fit on a desktop. Epson Stylus Pro 3880
October 09, 2009 - Epson outdoes itself with this outstanding new 17-inch pigment photo printer.More
Nikon D300s Hands on with the Nikon D300s
September 28, 2009 - Mid-Level pro DSLR from Nikon adds HD video along with several small but significant upgrades.More
Lexar Crucial Solid State Drives Objects of Desire: Lexar Crucial Solid State Drives
September 23, 2009 - If you want to get on the bandwagon early, Lexar Media has introduced a line of Crucial SSDs that offers speed and durability.More
Tamron 60mm Hands On with the Tamron SP AF60mm f/2.0 Di II LD 1:1 Macro Lens
September 21, 2009 - Macro mavens will like this affordable new third-party lens for APS-C DSLRs.More



Fuji shooter Photokina 2010 Day 1: The Incredible Shrinking Pro Camera Market
September 22, 2010 - Prosumer models lead the way at photokina 2010.More
Photokina 2010 Day 0: Leica Drives a VW; 20-Foot Chase Jarvis; Canons Along The Rhine
Kodak Introduces New Professional Portra 400 Film. (Yes, Film.)
Nikon Unveils 16.2MP D7000 DSLR, 200mm f/2 and 35mm f/1.4 Nikkor Lenses and SB-700 Speedlight
Olympus Launches 12.3MP E-5 Digital SLR with 720p HD Video Shooting
Canon Takes Wraps Off 10MP G12 PowerShot Camera with HD Video Feature
Lords of the RIng Flash Lords of the Ring Flash
September 02, 2010 - From its beginnings in the dentist's office to its days along the runway, photographers keep returning to ring lighting.